The Infernal Devices: Clockwork Angel

A few years ago, I tried reading City of Bones just after the movie was released. I couldn’t. I don’t know why but I just couldn’t. I liked the world, I liked the story concept, the writing was fine. I have no issues with Cassandra Clare starting as a fan fiction writer – hell, I wrote fan fiction in college. I just didn’t really like the characters – beyond Alec, Magnus, and Izzy. Clary and Jace just didn’t speak to me; I couldn’t feel them or feel with them. I know their story (thanks Google) but I just couldn’t read the books.

At about the same time, Clockwork Angel was released. Again, I was sucked in by the cover. (If you hadn’t noticed, I like pretty art. Pretty cover art is constantly my downfall.) The storyline was interesting, and the characters seemed more varied than the Mortal Instruments – to me at least. But I wasn’t a big reader at the time so I brushed it off.

Fast forward to this year where I am devouring books. I decided to give Clockwork Angel a try since the Shadowhunters tv series came out. (Still don’t like Clary and Jace even though Katherine McNamara and Dominic Sherwood do such a wonderful job with their characters.) The cover art has changed, but still pretty. And the story…oh yes, I do like this story much better than Mortal Instruments.

IMG_1443

I am a sucker for Victorian England based stories. Even though I am no historian, I love the elegance of the time period. And to see how Shadowhunters function in such a society was refreshing. Again, I’m not a historian so if Clare gets any facts wrong about the time period or place I can’t spot them – not that it really matters since this is a work of fiction. But what I enjoy the most about the book is Tessa Gray. I simply adore Tessa. I love discovering the Shadowhunter world as she discovers it. Even in the span of one volume you can see Tessa starting to come into herself, becoming a confident woman who is accepting of who she is and the world she finds herself in. I like books and movies where there are characters I can relate to, and I definitely relate to Tessa.

Reading Clockwork Angel is like discovering the world of the Nephilim anew. If you haven’t read the Mortal Instruments series like me, you won’t be missing much. I’m almost certain that there will be some scenes in MI that will be eluded to in the later volumes, but for the first volume I didn’t see anything confusing. It does help a bit that I have seen the 2013 movie (even though it wasn’t the greatest) and am currently watching the Shadowhunters tv series (even though some scenes seem to have changed).

I am so glad I waited to read Clockwork Angel. I’m sure if I had read it as the series was being released, I would have been either super anxious because of the waiting or have become discouraged by it. Now, I can read them all without having to wait unless I decide to.

And, for the record, I like Jem over Will. 😛

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

