Have Courage, Be Kind: The Tale of Cinderella

Growing up, Cinderella was probably one of my least favorite Disney animated movies. It wasn’t really a story that appealed to me. When I was younger, I was a tomboy so I preferred the princes over the princesses…and Prince Charming was a bit of a dud. (Prince Phillip, on the other hand, now that was a prince.)

As I grew older, I began to shed my tomboy habits – not much though, but I began to like more feminine things. So when the live action Cinderella movie was released, all I could think about was “ooooh, pretty dress.”

But enough of that, how about a book review?

IMG_1447

Have Courage, Be Kind: The Tale of Cinderella is a beautiful book. Literally beautiful. The hardcover book sports glossy pages with color illustrations scattered about. The glossy, thick pages makes it difficult to bend back the spine and the book doesn’t lay flat but they are just right for the almost watercolor-like illustrations. The story is easy to read with medium sized font. It’s also a very fast read if you are familiar with the movie; I read the book in a single day after a long day at work.

The story alternates between Ella and Kit’s point of views, following the flow of the movie. While not being very descriptive, it still is faithful to the movie. There are some added bits you don’t get in the film, such as Kit’s thoughts as he is returning from the stag hunt just after meeting Ella but before his portrait scene. You also get a little more insight to the scene between the Grand Duke and Lady Tremaine just before their meeting. My favorite addition is Kit and the Captain’s conspiracy before the slipper search; if you’ve ever wondered just how Kit came to be the search party, you’ll find out in this book. There is also one addition scene after the wedding that ends the story very sweetly and happily.

The book itself isn’t a great work of fiction, but it is beautiful and very much worth a read if you are a fan of any version of the Cinderella tale. The illustrations alone make it well worth the price.

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

