The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

I attempted a read of City of Bones back in 2013 when the movie starring Lily Collins and Jamie Campbell Bower was released. While I liked the story premise, I had a difficult time getting into it because I couldn’t fully relate to the main protagonists, Clary and Jace. Maybe it was because I just hit my 30s and they were half my age. I’m not sure.

Fast forward to today, three years later. I fell in love with the Infernal Devices trilogy and really want to read Lady Midnight. To get from one to the other, however, requires reading all six books of the Mortal Instruments series. It was time to revisit City of Bones again.

IMG_1485

It still like the premise. Cassandra Clare’s reading is easy but not elementary. Her world is richly imagined while still being grounded in the modern world we all live in. We’re all familiar with the stories that alluded to; stories of vampires, werewolves, fae, and other mythical creatures. I think because Clare uses elements that we are all already familiar with while still putting her own spin on some aspects that it makes this story tangible and real.

However, I still can’t relate to Clary and Jace. Not fully anyway. I do understand Clary’s point of view, feeling like an outcast with only one real friend to speak of. But there is something about their characters that I – as a now mid-30s individual – just can’t grasp. I have a much easier time relating to Isabelle and Alec (and more so with Magnus) that I do Clary and Jace. I’m pretty sure it if I were closer to my teen years I would relate to them better, but that’s just a minor detail.

I still plan to continue with the story. I’m looking forward to seeing how it progresses as I make my way through the story.

My rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

