Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone

In anticipation for the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and since it had been ages since I read the book, I decided to reread the entire Harry Potter series. I didn’t want to reread all of them at once but rather reread them slowly and carefully while still working towards my Goodreads reading challenge. The weekend Cursed Child was released, I decide to reread Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Since I suspect the majority of individuals have read this series, I won’t be doing summaries like I normally do; instead, I’ll be focusing on my thoughts.


I was in my late teens/early twenties when the Harry Potter series was released. Chronologically, I am the same age as Harry is so the series didn’t have quite a profound on impact on me as it does on some of my younger friends. Now, as an adult, rereading the stories again is vastly different as I notice things I didn’t see before. One of things that sticks out to me is how some of the wording is changed to accommodate American readers. The use of the phrase “sorcerer” in the title isn’t the only thing that changes. Did you ever notice that Dean Thomas is said to be a “soccer” fan? Soccer is a distinctly American term. Also, during one of the feasts, one of the listed desserts is “Jell-O”; is that even a thing in the UK?

Differences between the book and movie become apparent upon a second reading. I am of the mind that movies and television adaptations must make some changes to a story in order to accommodate a different medium. Changes from book to screen bother me less than it tends to do most people provided the changes are necessary. In the movie verse, it is Ron who accompanies Harry, Hermione, and Draco into the Dark Forest as part of their detention; in the book, Ron is in the infirmary and it is actually Neville to has detention. In addition, Snape’s task to get to the sorcerer’s stone is omitted from the movie (I am assuming this is for time’s sake).

I do have to say that I really miss Ron’s “ARE YOU A WITCH OR NOT?” line during the devil’s snare scene.

Rereading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was really refreshing after more than a decade. I’m excited to reread the rest of the series and see what else I’ve forgotten/missed.

My rating: 4.75/5

Leave a Reply

