Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

In November, I set out to reread the entire Harry Potter series. I actually began it in July, just before the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Unfortunately I stopped as I was working my way through a rather large YALL Fest pile and completing my Goodreads reading challenge of the year.

Recent events had me seeking out the happiness I found in reading Harry Potter. As Dumbledore so wisely said “Happiness can be found in even the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light.”As with my previous post on the Sorceror’s Stone, I won’t be doing an extensive summary but rather focusing on my thoughts. This will be the theme for all of my rereads of this series.


After my first read through of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, it became clear that it would be my least favorite of the entire series. I still really enjoyed the writing and the plot, but the first 1/3 of the book felt like a retelling of Sorceror’s Stone. I understand the need to revisit concepts that were introduced in the previous volume, but I felt like ALL of them were reintroduced – which I thought was not necessary. Those who have read Sorceror’s Stone would understand the concept of muggles, Quidditch, Hogwarts, and other things associated with the wizarding world. Those who had not would hopefully be enticed to seek out the previous book. It was a struggle to work my way back through the beginning, even on the second read through.

I also felt that the actual events in the chamber were lackluster compared to the events to obtain the Sorceror’s stone. There were less challenges to overcome, which I felt made the book less exciting than it’s predecessor.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy Chamber of Secrets. Having completed the series once already and knowing what ultimately occurs, I gained a better understanding of the events of this book. Little details which didn’t mean anything before and were easily forgotten now have become more clear. I also have gained a better appreciation of Ginny’s character; having been possessed by a cursed spirit for most of the year at the young age of eleven, she has progressed remarkably well in later books.

Overall, Chamber of Secrets remains my least favorite of the Harry Potter series. But I still feel it is a necessary piece to the story as a whole.

My rating: 3.75/5

Note: coincidentally, today wasnthe day that I was in Diagon Alley at Universal Studios in Orlando. Today, I got to pretend I am a witch. 😀

Leave a Reply

